Digby–my kitten!!!

For a long time, I spelt Digby’s name with two g’s, Diggby. But now, I don’t know, I think it’s quite sweet to spell it with only one g. Anyway, I got him for I think my tenth birthday. Actually, he was more of a very early birthday present, but he was still considered a birthday present (and still is!) I got him in like August I think. He’s now three years old, birthday in May. Oh my gosh, I can’t believe that he will be four this year! That is soooo crazy!

So maybe you already know about the cat breed main coon, but basically they originated from Maine, they have the best fur ever which litterally turns into this puffy coat when they go outside and it’s cold (hence adapting from Maine), they eat TONES (or at least mine does) they look like raccoons (hence maine COONS)… but the best bit? They are HUGE. they grow so so big, up until they are five years old. Digby still has two years to grow. They can grow literally into the size of a smallish-medium dog. They are long cats, which means they can stretch out the bodies for feet wide. The thing with Digby is, on his vet passport, it says he’s domesticated, but really, that’s a lie, tbh with you… he is just such a wild thing. I said that I got him for my birthday but he’s not exactly the type of cat that you could really wrap a giant pink bow around. He’s feisty, independent, and he ain’t got no time for no one, no thing.

I guess you could say all cats are pretty independent, but I don’t agree. Most are, I suppose, but our other cat, Alfie, is not really independent at all. Come to think about it, our cats are quite strange. They all have totally different personalities. Alfie is the most UN-independent cat one will ever come across. He snuggles up to you and whenever you sit down, he will hop on your lap. With Digby, that doesn’t always happen. Sure, he enjoys a good stroke, but he will only approach you, or us, when he feels like it. And when there is birds and mice and deer and rabbits and other cats to hunt (YES, other cats!) that isn’t very routinely. I remember literally, me being tied up with homework and it being that time of the summer year for Digby, I didn’t see him for like two weeks. But I knew, no need to be worried. It’s just in his blood. He’s a nut. A nutjob. If you look a Digs up in the dictionary, I’m pretty sure “a. a wild thing, b. a nutjob, c. the killer” will come up, no kara-jokie.

So yeah, back onto the whole maine-coon-cat-rant thing, they grow to be huge sizes. Now Digs, although I personally am pretty sure he’s full bred maine coon, everyone says it (we did get him from a rescue mission), hasn’t grown to be quite as big enough to fit into the Guinness World Records book just yet–but remember, we still have at least two more years! He is a pretty huge cat though, bigger and longer than even our fattest and other long cat Alfie. Digby isn’t fat though–even though he litterally eats a ton everyday not including most likely having some kind of secret-relationship with Six-Dinner-Sid and his club, as well as stealing the other cats food–not like Alife, who at his highest peak was 17 lbs (he’s probably fat enough to be in the Guinness World Records). Digby can stretch out to be like three feet long at least and his head is colossal with his wide face and wide flat nose and loads of extra quilted fur. Whickie is actually quite scared of Digby tbh–though sometimes they get in fights and you’ll find balls of fluff fur in one section of the house. Mogally is certainly NOT scared of Digby though. For one thing, she’s a girl, black and white, rockin MJ style. With one raise of that paw and Digby will back away before she even has to open her mouth to hiss. Sometimes, being the daring, fearless backsasser boy he is, he won’t back off so quickly and Mogally will start to growl and then hiss and it won’t be until then that he decides, finally, to rest his case, and learn his lesson. Whatever he does, though, Mogally and Digby both learnt on that first day that they will forever stay s.e.p.e.r.a.t.e.

When we first got Digby, I wanted to see the, cats in action, so we let them out of the cage and Digby went flying around the room, really excited to be out. The other little tabby cat stayed shieled under the chair and I felt really quite bad for him. Actually, I think it might have been a she. Oh dear! That cat was the one I was thinking of getting as well as a white and orange cat who was older than Digby (the tabby cat was younger than Digby, and I REALLY wanted a very very small kitten.) But I am just so glad I got Digby and that I have him now, honestly. I love him to pieces, as well as all of our other cats that we have (we have three others: Wickie, Mogally and Alfie.) Oh, and Diggs also has these little ear tuffs under his ears–apparently they are real maine-coon-ish and only Maine Coons have them. cool, right!?

Maine coons I think are usually around $300 or something (no snarking if I am wrong) and we got him at the animal rescue for $30, I think. Gosh and their tails!!! totally forgot to mention! okay, can we please just take a moment to realise and THANK how amazing their tails are. seriously. they are so fluffy and soooooo long. and how the fur FEELS… SO SOFT… SO SOFT… OH MY GOODNESSES… we call Digby’s tail the boom because when he does outside he sweeps up everything in existence on the deck or in the woods and when he comes back in side and plops on the sofa, and then, of-course after he’s eaten his food, he decides to go outside again and we’re left with an entire sofa full of bits of leaves and grass and mud and dirt. yum! kind of helpful, really, if I’m honest. Might as well say so.

And here ARE some pics of my Diggs:

Photo on 2013-07-24 at 13.36 #4YO YO YO there’s my DIGGIS in the HOOOD!!!

I really STRONGLY suggest you look up some pics of maine coons (just by typing “maine coons” into google because seriously, they are huge and they will take up your whole living room and they are amazing and beautiful and there are some really great famous Guinness World Records cats on that Google. Unfourtunately, it would not allow me so upload the pictures from google and besides I’m not sure that the google people who have their cats lying on their heads, would be that pleased to be on my blog, not that they would probably know…….. ok whatever, I’m just gonna give you the link! : https://www.google.com/search?q=maine+coon&client=firefox-a&hs=Q6U&rls=org.mozilla:en-US:official&source=lnms&tbm=isch&sa=X&ei=ejXfUpWpGualsQTQvYGgCg&ved=0CAkQ_AUoAQ&biw=1280&bih=554#facrc=_&imgdii=_&imgrc=n8HZyci0I-msVM%253A%3BkF_eszGC49OdvM%3Bhttp%253A%252F%252Fwww.fogcitycat.com%252Fr_b.jpg%3Bhttp%253A%252F%252Fwww.fogcitycat.com%252Fbreed.html%3B435%3B326

I got Digby when he was 2 months old I think. Forever crawling up my back and scratching me and indeed everything else to pieces, I love him so much and although I literally never see that cat, I know he’s out there somewhere, probably doing something not so proud, *you know what that means!* and I couldn’t love him more for who he is. I’m so glad we chose HIM at the animal rescue place.

You prob.s think I’m a crazy cat lady after this but oh well… maybe I am!!!

Leave a Reply

